01223 631100

In This Section ▾

Latest Updates:

Student Achievement Awards spring 2017

Posted on

Congratulations to all our students who were nominated for Achievement Awards this term. The college vice-principal, Heather Chambers, hosted a tea party, and students were presented with their certificates by head of Politics Dave Evans. College governor John Godwood also attended, as did progress coaches Liz Walker and Dorigen Bell and student support assistant Kate Hodson. Students were nominated by teachers, progress coaches, the marketing officer and the e-learning leader. Here are our winning students:

Emma Clarke

Emma has shown excellence in volunteering to be a Peer Mentor, helping on open evenings and always offering her services whenever the college needs student ambassadors. She has won the LRC reading competition, and her general attitude towards college and enrichment is excellent. Emma has had 100% attendance and punctuality throughout her whole time at college so far (she is a Year 2 student).

Isobel Gent

Isobel has shown fantastic commitment, leading to a great improvement in her work and a high grade in her last major assessment.

Rebecca Goodchild

Rebecca has been nominated for her excellent work on her EPQ.

Stephanie Grady

Stephanie is a very hard-working student, achieving good grades in her AS exams and predicted to do well in her linear A levels.

Eleanor Jones

Eleanor has been superbly committed to her studies this year. She has outstanding attendance and punctuality, and her attitude to learning has been exemplary throughout her time at college.

Chelsea Kuryszczuk

Chelsea has earned all 4 digital badges: Get Connected on enrolment day, Share Aware 2016 (e-safety), 21st Century Student (study skills) and My Digital Identity (digital literacy).

Olly Lockyer

Olly was the winner of the competition to design a poster for the ICT L3 Diploma – an excellent example of cross-college co-operation.

Lucy McMahon

Lucy was nominated for her extensive involvement in Politics enrichment (she was a member of the Long Road team which reached the national final of the Politics Association Democracy Society video competition) and for her academic achievement.

Kate Palmer

Kate is a peer mentor who volunteers to help at a wide range of events. She is a great ambassador for the college and can always be relied upon to behave in a professional, friendly and helpful manner.  There have been many compliments from members of staff about her work for the college.

Matthew Richer

Matthew studies Photography, Maths and Business and was winner of the Fujifilm imax 8 photography competition ‘Your Life, Your Story’.

Jasmine Seamarks

Jasmine has not only achieved Distinction in all her 120-unit Sports Diploma units – a conscientious, enthusiastic student – but also competes for Team GB in the Deaflympics.

Daniel Thomson

Dan was nominated for his excellent college sports match reports – Dan is hoping to be a sport journalist.

Kyle Tipgos

Kyle has earned all 4 digital badges: Get Connected on enrolment day, Share Aware 2016 (e-safety), 21st Century Student (study skills) and My Digital Identity (digital literacy).

Sasha Vail

Sasha was the winner of the prestigious Living Sport Young Community Volunteer of the Year Award for her outstanding commitment to netball and triathlon in the local area.

Michael White

Michael successfully completed the Level 2 Access to Level 3 science programme and is now taking Biology, Chemistry and Maths at A level.

Photo from left to right:

Liz Walker (progress coach), Sasha Vail, Eleanor Jones, Rebecca Goodchild, Chelsea Kuryszczuk, John Godwood (governor), Isobel Gent, Emma Clarke, Kate Palmer, Jasmine Seamarks, Matthew Richer, Stephanie Grady, Daniel Thomson, Katie Hodson (student support assistant), Dorigen Bell (progress coach), Olly Lockyer, Lucy McMahon, Dave Evans (head of Politics), Kyle Tipgos and Michael White.